Public Document Pack

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Agenda

Wednesday, 26 June 2013 **8.00 pm**, or after the consideration of Item 13 on the Council Agenda, Civic Suite
Lewisham Town Hall
London SE6 4RU

For more information contact: Salena Mulhere 0208 314 3380 or Kevin Flaherty 0208 3149327 (Tel:)

Part 1

ltem		Pages
1.	OSC Chairs & Vice Chairs	1 - 2
2.	OSC Select Committee Appointments	3

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Members

Members of the committee, listed below, are summoned to attend the meeting to be held on Wednesday, 26 June 2013.

Barry Quirk, Chief Executive Tuesday, 18 June 2013

Councillor Alan Hall (Chair)

Councillor Kevin Bonavia (Vice-Chair)
,
Councillor Olufunke Abidoye
Councillor Jackie Addison
Councillor Obajimi Adefiranye
Councillor Anne Affiku
Councillor Christine Allison
Councillor Abdeslam Amrani
Councillor Pauline Beck
Councillor Paul Bell
Councillor John Bowen
Councillor David Britton
Councillor Duwayne Brooks
Councillor Suzannah Clarke
Councillor Jenni Clutten
Councillor Liam Curran
Councillor Vincent Davis
Councillor Amanda De Ryk
Councillor Alexander Feakes
Councillor Peggy Fitzsimmons
Councillor Julia Fletcher
•

Councillor Patsy Foreman Councillor Vicky Foxcroft Councillor Helen Gibson Councillor Sven Griesenbeck **Councillor Carl Handley Councillor Michael Harris** Councillor Ami Ibitson Councillor Mark Ingleby Councillor Stella Jeffrey Councillor Darren Johnson Councillor Madeliene Long **Councillor Chris Maines Councillor Jim Mallory** Councillor Pauline Morrison Councillor John Muldoon Councillor Marion Nisbet Councillor Sam Owolabi-Oluyole Councillor Stephen Padmore Councillor Jacq Paschoud Councillor John Paschoud Councillor Philip Peake Councillor Eva Stamirowski Councillor Alan Till Councillor Dan Whittle

Agenda Item 1

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE				
Report Title	Chairs and Vice Chairs of Select Committees			
Key Decision	No			Item No.
Ward				
Contributors	Chief Executive (Head of Business & Committee)			
Class	Part 1		Date: 26 June 2013	

1. Chairs and Vice Chairs of Select Committees

The constitution requires that the Chairs and Vice Chairs of scrutiny select committees are allocated on a proportional basis based on party strength on the Council.

The current party composition of the Council is:

<u>Lab.</u>	<u>Lib. Dem.</u>	Cons.	<u>Green</u>
42	10	1	1
(77.77%)	(18.52%)	(1.85%)	(1.85%)

There are currently six permanent select committees. The option previously applied was to make two separate allocations of the six Chair and Vice-Chair positions.

ALLOCATION

The Council's previous practice has been to make two separate allocations. This was last reviewed in November 2012.

The allocation for both Chairs and Vice-Chairs now would be as follows:

<u>Lab.</u>	<u>Lib. Dem.</u>	<u>Cons.</u>	<u>Green</u>
4.67	1.11	0.11	0.11

Based on these figures the option to be applied to both Chair and Vice Chair allocations continues to be:

Proposed Allocation

<u>Lab.</u>	Lib. Dem.	Cons	<u>Green.</u>
5	1	-	-

RECOMMENDATION that the Committee notes that recent changes in party strength do not require any alteration to the current proportional allocation of Chairs and Vice-Chairs of select committees.

Agenda Item 2

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE				
Report Title	Appointments to Sub-Committees			
Key Decision	No			Item No.
Ward				
Contributors	Chief Executive (Head of Business & Committee)			
Class	Part 1		Date: 26 June 2013	

1 **Appointments to Select Committees**

- 1.1 A review of the proportionality formula applying to all Council committees has been included with the agenda papers of the Council meeting taking place on the same date.
- 1.2 The sole change required since the last full review in November 2012 concerns the Housing Select Committee where the Labour Party Group gains one place and the Liberal Democrat Party Group must surrender one place following the recent notification to the Proper Officer that a Councillor had transferred their group status from Liberal Democrat to Labour.

RECOMMENDATION That the Committee reviews the membership of the following:-

Housing Select Committee (a)